Learning

Academic success and so much more

Victoria College is a school where students can and want to thrive academically and make the most of the many opportunities on offer. We encourage boys to develop their talents, discover new interests and prepare themselves for the world beyond school.

Established in 1852 to educate Jersey’s most willing and able boys, Victoria College continues to serve its original intended purpose, providing a route to the best universities, including Oxford and Cambridge, and to stimulating careers.

We are an academically successful school and we care about results. However, we also firmly believe that education is about far more than grades: it is about cultivating independent thought and developing individual young adults who have the confidence to think creatively, explore new ideas and act compassionately.  Most of all, it is about students developing a lifelong appetite for learning, nurtured by inspirational teachers in a supportive environment.

Victoria College takes part in the government’s Jersey Premium programme which supports certain students.
To find out more, please contact Dr Gareth Hughes, Deputy Headmaster, g.hughes@vcj.sch.je

 

Learning in Years 7 to 11

In secondary school, we encourage boys to take greater responsibility for their own education. However, we appreciate that each boy will reach this level of responsibility at different times according to their maturity and motivation.

Maintaining good academic progress is important, and every student is closely monitored by his Form Tutor as well as the Academic Head of Year.

The Academic Head of Year (listed below) works with the five Form Tutors in each Year. Their role is to:

  • Raise expectations and instil confidence in students
  • Improve individual performance
  • Keep students and parents informed about progress and anticipated grades
  • Identify and underperformance and provide support

The Form Tutor looks after a specific class and is their specific point of contact every day. The Form Tutor is usually the teacher best placed to monitor personal or academic issues.

Key Stage 3

In Years 7, 8 and 9 students follow the Jersey Curriculum with the addition of Food Technology and two hours a week of sport. A comprehensive programme of Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) is also part of the curriculum and covers a range of wellbeing areas such as relationships, self-esteem and personal safety alongside citizenship and study of Jersey’s unique political system and local government.

Year

Academic Head of Year

Email

7

Mrs Lucy Ogg

l.ogg@vcj.sch.je

8

Miss Jacqueline Bryan

j.bryan@vcj.sch.je

9

Mrs Orla Priestley

o.priestley@vcj.sch.je

Key Stage 4

In Years 10 and 11 students study mandatory core subjects: English, mathematics, religious education, a modern foreign language. All students also have lessons in PE, careers and PSHE. Alongside these subjects, students can choose to study six Options of their choice. Many subjects offer extra-curricular activities that provide support and extension work to students who show particular interest in the area.

Year

Academic Head of Year

Email

10

Mr Brendan Carolan

b.carolan@vcj.sch.je

11

The vast majority of our Year 11 students stay on with us through to Years 12 and 13, the Sixth Form, to study A levels and prepare for university or work. Find out more about our Sixth Form here, or contact our acting Head of Sixth Form, Olivia Varney: o.varney@vcj.sch.je

Curriculum and Subjects

Our curriculum is a rich and stimulating mixture of subjects, designed to meet the diverse needs of our students and challenge them to reach their full potential. For subject information, read the GCSE Options Guide 2018.

 

Head of Department

 

Art

Mr Jefferson Randles

j.randles@vcj.sch.je

Computing

Mr Ozzy Parkes

o.parkes@vcj.sch.je

Design and Technology

Mrs Gabrielle Armstrong

g.armstrong@vcj.sch.je

Drama

Mrs Lucy Ogg

l.ogg@vcj.sch.je

English

Miss Marianne Adams

m.adams@vcj.sch.je

Geography

Mr Aaron O’Hare

a.ohare@vcj.sch.je

History

Miss Kate Mawdsley

k.mawdsley@vcj.sch.je

Languages

Miss Monica Perestrelo

m.perestrelo@vcj.sch.je

Mathematics

Mr Robbie Webbe

r.webbe@vcj.sch.je

Music

Mr Francis Murton

f.murton@vcj.sch.je

Religious Studies

Mr Gareth Bloor

g.bloor@vcj.sch.je

Personal, Social and Health Education

Mr Lee Batchford

l.batchford@vcj.sch.je

Physical Education

Mr Matthew Smith

m.smith@vcj.sch.je

Biology

Dr Jane Richardson j.richardson@vcj.sch.je
Chemistry Mr Matt Widdop m.widdop@vcj.sch.je

Physics

Dr Steven Cooke

s.cooke@vcj.sch.je

Careers

Mrs Suzanne Job

s.job@vcj.sch.je

Academic reporting

Your son’s teachers will set him targets and monitor his progress to ensure that he is on track. We will keep you informed of your son’s progress in several ways throughout the Academic Year 2018-19

  • Two parent consultation evenings: One session with the Form Tutor (pastoral) and one session with subject teachers.
  • Periodic progress reports which provide a summary of a student’s effort, achievement and any areas of concern.
  • A comprehensive report with grades and comments from each of your son’s teachers.

If at any time, you are concerned or have a question regarding your son’s academic progress, contact us straight away so that we can support him as needed. Your first port of call is his Form Tutor.

Exams

Victoria College is an academically strong and successful school. Exams are an integral and routine part of the teaching and learning process, and we provide our boys with the knowledge, support and practice opportunities so that they may approach each exam calmly and with confidence.  It is important to be well prepared for exams and this is a team as well as an individual effort, with student, teachers and parents each having a vital role to play.

Two types of exam are held at Victoria College:

  • Internal: entrance exams, mock exams and summer exams at the end of the academic year.
  • External: GCSEs in Year 11 and A levels in Year 13, plus other exams that are assessed by external boards.

For more information about exams in Years 12 and 13, see our Sixth Form Learning page.

If you have any questions regarding your son’s exam performance, contact his Academic Head of Year, as listed above. For general exam queries contact Examinations Officer, Liz Smith: l.smith@vcj.sch.je

Special Educational Needs

Should your son face challenges, our learning support team are here to help identify the issues and put support in place. They are found in our Study Centre, a central base for our learning and wellbeing support that is accessible to boys throughout the school day. 

The team includes a Special Educational Needs Coordinator (SENCO) and an Inclusion Coordinator, who aim to:

  • anticipate and meet the needs of pupils who have special educational needs or disabilities
  • ensure all students experience a fully inclusive education
  • help students learn the social, emotional and behavioural skills needed in order to sustain positive relationships with others
  • ensure that all teachers are aware of each pupil’s needs – it is the shared responsibility

The role of the SENCO is to identify and coordinate the special provisions needed by those boys who:

  • Have specific learning difficulties or complex visual or physical needs
  • Are High Potential Learners

For SEN queries, contact our SENCO, Orla Priestley: o.priestley@vcj.sch.je

The role of the Inclusion Coordinator is to:

  • coordinate the special provisions needed by boys who have specific mental health, social, emotional, wellbeing and behavioural needs
  • work with staff, parents and outside agencies, if needed, to ensure that every boy has, as much as possible, equal opportunity to attend school punctually and consistently, to learn and perform well in both their lessons and exams 

For Inclusion or accessibility queries, contact Inclusion Coordinator, Sue Watkins: s.watkins@vcj.sch.je

The Library

The De Quetteville Library is a welcoming and thriving learning space that combines technology to facilitate modern education and the charm and atmosphere of a traditional library. The oldest section was an integral part of the original school teaching room when it was established in 1852. It was then refurbished in 1905, with carved oak shelving donated by the De Quetteville family.

The Library plays a central role in supporting teaching and learning across the curriculum, and aims to develop in the boys’ lifelong enjoyment of reading. It provides:

  • Library induction sessions for new students
  • 12,000 fiction and non-fiction books
  • 30 PCs and 23 iPads
  • Password access to online subscription resources and databases
  • Daily newspapers and a large variety of magazines and journals, both print and online.
  • Printing, photocopying and scanning facilities
  • Audio books and course-complimentary DVDs
  • Graphic novels and associated media
  • A careers section and university prospectuses
  • Changing displays promoting literary schemes, competitions, school information, archive materials, local history, quizzes, visual artists, poetry, general knowledge and an object of the week

During break and lunch time, all students are welcome in the Library to study, research or simply read or listen to audio books.

For Library queries, contact Librarian, James Wooldridge j.wooldridge@vcj.sch.je